Grad School: Day 1

Today marks the official start of grad school–while I’m nervous, stressed out, overwhelmed, and worried, I’m also excited.

While I never thought taking a year-and-a-half off from school would be good for me or beneficial to furthering my education, it has allowed me to grow and explore myself in a way that I had never been able to. I hadn’t had the time, the energy, or the emotional awareness to do so.

But when I didn’t get accepted into vet school–and all my plans went out the window–I didn’t have much of a choice.

I got engaged this past May. I grew in my faith. I learned more about myself and built some self-confidence. And as I face the impending chaos that is grad school, I know that I’ll be ok. Somehow, some way, I will get through this.

Even though I learned this past Friday that grad school would delay my honeymoon (thanks comprehensive exams! :] ), I’m okay with it.

I will take them and then I will go on my honeymoon with my loving, caring, amazing (at-that-time) husband and we will embark on our married lives together, without the stress of comps in front of me to dampen our vacation together.

This fall, my fiance plans on taking the GRE and then applying to graduate school himself. Our plan is to complete one full academic year in school together (yaaay….) before I (hopefully) graduate and then get a job to begin supporting us as he finishes up his degree. I know there are a lot of pitfalls and obstacles and detours along this plan that we won’t have even considered, but I know we’ll make it through.

What God takes you to, He will get you through.

Today, I have biostats 1.

Tomorrow or Friday (maybe with a full week’s worth of experience) I will update with a retrospective post.

So, until then.

 

Leave a comment